diff mbox series

[15/18] mm/thp: fix page_address_in_vma() on file THP tails

Message ID 20210616012400.bqtmTMCeq%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [01/18] mm,hwpoison: fix race with hugetlb page allocation | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton June 16, 2021, 1:24 a.m. UTC
From: Jue Wang <juew@google.com>
Subject: mm/thp: fix page_address_in_vma() on file THP tails

Anon THP tails were already supported, but memory-failure may need to use
page_address_in_vma() on file THP tails, which its page->mapping check did
not permit: fix it.

hughd adds: no current usage is known to hit the issue, but this does fix
a subtle trap in a general helper: best fixed in stable sooner than later.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/a0d9b53-bf5d-8bab-ac5-759dc61819c1@google.com
Fixes: 800d8c63b2e9 ("shmem: add huge pages support")
Signed-off-by: Jue Wang <juew@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Matthew Wilcox (Oracle) <willy@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: Yang Shi <shy828301@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alistair Popple <apopple@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@huawei.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: Wang Yugui <wangyugui@e16-tech.com>
Cc: Zi Yan <ziy@nvidia.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/rmap.c |    8 ++++----
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/rmap.c~mm-thp-fix-page_address_in_vma-on-file-thp-tails
+++ a/mm/rmap.c
@@ -716,11 +716,11 @@  unsigned long page_address_in_vma(struct
 		if (!vma->anon_vma || !page__anon_vma ||
 		    vma->anon_vma->root != page__anon_vma->root)
 			return -EFAULT;
-	} else if (page->mapping) {
-		if (!vma->vm_file || vma->vm_file->f_mapping != page->mapping)
-			return -EFAULT;
-	} else
+	} else if (!vma->vm_file) {
+		return -EFAULT;
+	} else if (vma->vm_file->f_mapping != compound_head(page)->mapping) {
 		return -EFAULT;
+	}
 
 	return vma_address(page, vma);
 }