diff mbox series

[-V8,06/10] mm/vmscan: add page demotion counter

Message ID 20210618061537.434999-7-ying.huang@intel.com (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series Migrate Pages in lieu of discard | expand

Commit Message

Huang Ying June 18, 2021, 6:15 a.m. UTC
From: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>

Account the number of demoted pages.

Add pgdemote_kswapd and pgdemote_direct VM counters showed in
/proc/vmstat.

[ daveh:
   - __count_vm_events() a bit, and made them look at the THP
     size directly rather than getting data from migrate_pages()
]

Signed-off-by: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Yang Shi <shy828301@gmail.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Wei Xu <weixugc@google.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: osalvador <osalvador@suse.de>

--

Changes since 202010:
 * remove unused scan-control 'demoted' field
---
 include/linux/vm_event_item.h | 2 ++
 mm/vmscan.c                   | 5 +++++
 mm/vmstat.c                   | 2 ++
 3 files changed, 9 insertions(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/include/linux/vm_event_item.h b/include/linux/vm_event_item.h
index ae0dd1948c2b..a185cc75ff52 100644
--- a/include/linux/vm_event_item.h
+++ b/include/linux/vm_event_item.h
@@ -33,6 +33,8 @@  enum vm_event_item { PGPGIN, PGPGOUT, PSWPIN, PSWPOUT,
 		PGREUSE,
 		PGSTEAL_KSWAPD,
 		PGSTEAL_DIRECT,
+		PGDEMOTE_KSWAPD,
+		PGDEMOTE_DIRECT,
 		PGSCAN_KSWAPD,
 		PGSCAN_DIRECT,
 		PGSCAN_DIRECT_THROTTLE,
diff --git a/mm/vmscan.c b/mm/vmscan.c
index ddda32031f0c..7d5c7216a4b7 100644
--- a/mm/vmscan.c
+++ b/mm/vmscan.c
@@ -1317,6 +1317,11 @@  static unsigned int demote_page_list(struct list_head *demote_pages,
 			    target_nid, MIGRATE_ASYNC, MR_DEMOTION,
 			    &nr_succeeded);
 
+	if (current_is_kswapd())
+		__count_vm_events(PGDEMOTE_KSWAPD, nr_succeeded);
+	else
+		__count_vm_events(PGDEMOTE_DIRECT, nr_succeeded);
+
 	return nr_succeeded;
 }
 
diff --git a/mm/vmstat.c b/mm/vmstat.c
index cccee36b289c..a51fbdcadff5 100644
--- a/mm/vmstat.c
+++ b/mm/vmstat.c
@@ -1259,6 +1259,8 @@  const char * const vmstat_text[] = {
 	"pgreuse",
 	"pgsteal_kswapd",
 	"pgsteal_direct",
+	"pgdemote_kswapd",
+	"pgdemote_direct",
 	"pgscan_kswapd",
 	"pgscan_direct",
 	"pgscan_direct_throttle",