diff mbox series

[v3,4/7] xen/memory: Clarify the XENMEM_acquire_resource ABI description

Message ID 20210112194841.1537-5-andrew.cooper3@citrix.com (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series Multiple fixes to XENMEM_acquire_resource | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Cooper Jan. 12, 2021, 7:48 p.m. UTC
This is how similar operations already operate, compatible with the sole
implementation (in Linux), and explicitly gives us some flexibility.

Signed-off-by: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
Reviewed-by: Paul Durrant <paul@xen.org>
---
CC: George Dunlap <George.Dunlap@eu.citrix.com>
CC: Ian Jackson <iwj@xenproject.org>
CC: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@suse.com>
CC: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
CC: Wei Liu <wl@xen.org>
CC: Julien Grall <julien@xen.org>
CC: Paul Durrant <paul@xen.org>
CC: Michał Leszczyński <michal.leszczynski@cert.pl>
CC: Hubert Jasudowicz <hubert.jasudowicz@cert.pl>
CC: Tamas K Lengyel <tamas@tklengyel.com>
---
 xen/include/public/memory.h | 7 +++++--
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/xen/include/public/memory.h b/xen/include/public/memory.h
index d7eb34f167..c4c47a0b38 100644
--- a/xen/include/public/memory.h
+++ b/xen/include/public/memory.h
@@ -642,6 +642,7 @@  struct xen_mem_acquire_resource {
      * IN/OUT
      *
      * As an IN parameter number of frames of the resource to be mapped.
+     * This value may be updated during the course of the operation.
      *
      * When frame_list is NULL and nr_frames is 0, this is interpreted as a
      * request for the size of the resource, which shall be returned in the
@@ -656,7 +657,8 @@  struct xen_mem_acquire_resource {
     uint32_t pad;
     /*
      * IN - the index of the initial frame to be mapped. This parameter
-     *      is ignored if nr_frames is 0.
+     *      is ignored if nr_frames is 0.  This value may be updated
+     *      during the course of the operation.
      */
     uint64_t frame;
 
@@ -672,7 +674,8 @@  struct xen_mem_acquire_resource {
      *          If -EIO is returned then the frame_list has only been
      *          partially mapped and it is up to the caller to unmap all
      *          the GFNs.
-     *          This parameter may be NULL if nr_frames is 0.
+     *          This parameter may be NULL if nr_frames is 0.  This
+     *          value may be updated during the course of the operation.
      */
     XEN_GUEST_HANDLE(xen_pfn_t) frame_list;
 };