diff mbox series

[5.4,13/18] x86: kprobes: Prohibit probing on instruction which has emulate prefix

Message ID 20220513142229.541060503@linuxfoundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series None | expand

Commit Message

Greg Kroah-Hartman May 13, 2022, 2:23 p.m. UTC
From: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>

commit 004e8dce9c5595697951f7cd0e9f66b35c92265e upstream.

Prohibit probing on instruction which has XEN_EMULATE_PREFIX
or KVM's emulate prefix. Since that prefix is a marker for Xen
and KVM, if we modify the marker by kprobe's int3, that doesn't
work as expected.

Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/156777566048.25081.6296162369492175325.stgit@devnote2
Signed-off-by: Maximilian Heyne <mheyne@amazon.de>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
 arch/x86/kernel/kprobes/core.c |    4 ++++
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/kprobes/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/kprobes/core.c
@@ -358,6 +358,10 @@  int __copy_instruction(u8 *dest, u8 *src
 	kernel_insn_init(insn, dest, MAX_INSN_SIZE);
 	insn_get_length(insn);
 
+	/* We can not probe force emulate prefixed instruction */
+	if (insn_has_emulate_prefix(insn))
+		return 0;
+
 	/* Another subsystem puts a breakpoint, failed to recover */
 	if (insn->opcode.bytes[0] == BREAKPOINT_INSTRUCTION)
 		return 0;