diff mbox series

[171/178] SUNRPC: set rq_page_end differently

Message ID 20210430060158.L6Qo6kR9i%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/178] arch/ia64/kernel/head.S: remove duplicate include | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton April 30, 2021, 6:01 a.m. UTC
From: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>
Subject: SUNRPC: set rq_page_end differently

Patch series "SUNRPC consumer for the bulk page allocator"

This patch set and the measurements below are based on yesterday's
bulk allocator series:

git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/mel/linux.git mm-bulk-rebase-v5r9

The patches change SUNRPC to invoke the array-based bulk allocator
instead of alloc_page().

The micro-benchmark results are promising. I ran a mixture of 256KB
reads and writes over NFSv3. The server's kernel is built with KASAN
enabled, so the comparison is exaggerated but I believe it is still
valid.

I instrumented svc_recv() to measure the latency of each call to
svc_alloc_arg() and report it via a trace point. The following
results are averages across the trace events.

Single page: 25.007 us per call over 532,571 calls
Bulk list:    6.258 us per call over 517,034 calls
Bulk array:   4.590 us per call over 517,442 calls

This patch (of 2)

Refactor:

I'm about to use the loop variable @i for something else.

As far as the "i++" is concerned, that is a post-increment. The
value of @i is not used subsequently, so the increment operator
is unnecessary and can be removed.

Also note that nfsd_read_actor() was renamed nfsd_splice_actor()
by commit cf8208d0eabd ("sendfile: convert nfsd to
splice_direct_to_actor()").

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210325114228.27719-7-mgorman@techsingularity.net
Signed-off-by: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Reviewed-by: Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@pm.me>
Cc: Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Ilias Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>
Cc: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox (Oracle) <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 net/sunrpc/svc_xprt.c |    7 +++----
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/net/sunrpc/svc_xprt.c~sunrpc-set-rq_page_end-differently
+++ a/net/sunrpc/svc_xprt.c
@@ -661,7 +661,7 @@  static void svc_check_conn_limits(struct
 static int svc_alloc_arg(struct svc_rqst *rqstp)
 {
 	struct svc_serv *serv = rqstp->rq_server;
-	struct xdr_buf *arg;
+	struct xdr_buf *arg = &rqstp->rq_arg;
 	int pages;
 	int i;
 
@@ -686,11 +686,10 @@  static int svc_alloc_arg(struct svc_rqst
 			}
 			rqstp->rq_pages[i] = p;
 		}
-	rqstp->rq_page_end = &rqstp->rq_pages[i];
-	rqstp->rq_pages[i++] = NULL; /* this might be seen in nfs_read_actor */
+	rqstp->rq_page_end = &rqstp->rq_pages[pages];
+	rqstp->rq_pages[pages] = NULL; /* this might be seen in nfsd_splice_actor() */
 
 	/* Make arg->head point to first page and arg->pages point to rest */
-	arg = &rqstp->rq_arg;
 	arg->head[0].iov_base = page_address(rqstp->rq_pages[0]);
 	arg->head[0].iov_len = PAGE_SIZE;
 	arg->pages = rqstp->rq_pages + 1;