diff mbox series

[071/156] mm/memory_hotplug: guard more declarations by CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG

Message ID 20201016024531.Dzz59QLFY%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series [001/156] device-dax/kmem: fix resource release | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Oct. 16, 2020, 2:45 a.m. UTC
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Subject: mm/memory_hotplug: guard more declarations by CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG

We soon want to pass flags via a new type to add_memory() and friends. 
That revealed that we currently don't guard some declarations by
CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG.

While some definitions could be moved to different places, let's keep it
minimal for now and use CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG for all functions only
compiled with CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG.

Wrap sparse_decode_mem_map() into CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG, it's only called
from CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG code.

While at it, remove allow_online_pfn_range(), which is no longer around,
and mhp_notimplemented(), which is unused.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200911103459.10306-4-david@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Pankaj Gupta <pankaj.gupta.linux@gmail.com>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@ozlabs.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Julien Grall <julien@xen.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
Cc: Leonardo Bras <leobras.c@gmail.com>
Cc: Libor Pechacek <lpechacek@suse.cz>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Nathan Lynch <nathanl@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: "Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pingfan Liu <kernelfans@gmail.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Roger Pau Monné <roger.pau@citrix.com>
Cc: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>
Cc: Wei Liu <wei.liu@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/memory_hotplug.h |   12 +++---------
 mm/sparse.c                    |    2 ++
 2 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h~mm-memory_hotplug-guard-more-declarations-by-config_memory_hotplug
+++ a/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h
@@ -247,13 +247,6 @@  static inline void zone_span_writelock(s
 static inline void zone_span_writeunlock(struct zone *zone) {}
 static inline void zone_seqlock_init(struct zone *zone) {}
 
-static inline int mhp_notimplemented(const char *func)
-{
-	printk(KERN_WARNING "%s() called, with CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG disabled\n", func);
-	dump_stack();
-	return -ENOSYS;
-}
-
 static inline void register_page_bootmem_info_node(struct pglist_data *pgdat)
 {
 }
@@ -344,6 +337,7 @@  static inline void __remove_memory(int n
 extern void set_zone_contiguous(struct zone *zone);
 extern void clear_zone_contiguous(struct zone *zone);
 
+#ifdef CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG
 extern void __ref free_area_init_core_hotplug(int nid);
 extern int __add_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size);
 extern int add_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size);
@@ -364,8 +358,8 @@  extern void sparse_remove_section(struct
 		unsigned long map_offset, struct vmem_altmap *altmap);
 extern struct page *sparse_decode_mem_map(unsigned long coded_mem_map,
 					  unsigned long pnum);
-extern bool allow_online_pfn_range(int nid, unsigned long pfn, unsigned long nr_pages,
-		int online_type);
 extern struct zone *zone_for_pfn_range(int online_type, int nid, unsigned start_pfn,
 		unsigned long nr_pages);
+#endif /* CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG */
+
 #endif /* __LINUX_MEMORY_HOTPLUG_H */
--- a/mm/sparse.c~mm-memory_hotplug-guard-more-declarations-by-config_memory_hotplug
+++ a/mm/sparse.c
@@ -312,6 +312,7 @@  static unsigned long sparse_encode_mem_m
 	return coded_mem_map;
 }
 
+#ifdef CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG
 /*
  * Decode mem_map from the coded memmap
  */
@@ -321,6 +322,7 @@  struct page *sparse_decode_mem_map(unsig
 	coded_mem_map &= SECTION_MAP_MASK;
 	return ((struct page *)coded_mem_map) + section_nr_to_pfn(pnum);
 }
+#endif /* CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG */
 
 static void __meminit sparse_init_one_section(struct mem_section *ms,
 		unsigned long pnum, struct page *mem_map,