diff mbox series

[075/156] xen/balloon: try to merge system ram resources

Message ID 20201016024555.XsJu-pAJ5%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series [001/156] device-dax/kmem: fix resource release | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Oct. 16, 2020, 2:45 a.m. UTC
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Subject: xen/balloon: try to merge system ram resources

Let's try to merge system ram resources we add, to minimize the number of
resources in /proc/iomem.  We don't care about the boundaries of
individual chunks we added.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200911103459.10306-8-david@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
Cc: Roger Pau Monné <roger.pau@citrix.com>
Cc: Julien Grall <julien@xen.org>
Cc: Pankaj Gupta <pankaj.gupta.linux@gmail.com>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@ozlabs.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
Cc: Leonardo Bras <leobras.c@gmail.com>
Cc: Libor Pechacek <lpechacek@suse.cz>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Nathan Lynch <nathanl@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: "Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pingfan Liu <kernelfans@gmail.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>
Cc: Wei Liu <wei.liu@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 drivers/xen/balloon.c |    2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/drivers/xen/balloon.c~xen-balloon-try-to-merge-system-ram-resources
+++ a/drivers/xen/balloon.c
@@ -331,7 +331,7 @@  static enum bp_state reserve_additional_
 	mutex_unlock(&balloon_mutex);
 	/* add_memory_resource() requires the device_hotplug lock */
 	lock_device_hotplug();
-	rc = add_memory_resource(nid, resource, MHP_NONE);
+	rc = add_memory_resource(nid, resource, MEMHP_MERGE_RESOURCE);
 	unlock_device_hotplug();
 	mutex_lock(&balloon_mutex);