diff mbox series

[041/143] hugetlb: add per-hstate mutex to synchronize user adjustments

Message ID 20210505013452.2OzfL6Eib%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/143] mm: introduce and use mapping_empty() | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 5, 2021, 1:34 a.m. UTC
From: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Subject: hugetlb: add per-hstate mutex to synchronize user adjustments

The helper routine hstate_next_node_to_alloc accesses and modifies the
hstate variable next_nid_to_alloc.  The helper is used by the routines
alloc_pool_huge_page and adjust_pool_surplus.  adjust_pool_surplus is
called with hugetlb_lock held.  However, alloc_pool_huge_page can not be
called with the hugetlb lock held as it will call the page allocator.  Two
instances of alloc_pool_huge_page could be run in parallel or
alloc_pool_huge_page could run in parallel with adjust_pool_surplus which
may result in the variable next_nid_to_alloc becoming invalid for the
caller and pages being allocated on the wrong node.

Both alloc_pool_huge_page and adjust_pool_surplus are only called from the
routine set_max_huge_pages after boot.  set_max_huge_pages is only called
as the reusult of a user writing to the proc/sysfs nr_hugepages, or
nr_hugepages_mempolicy file to adjust the number of hugetlb pages.

It makes little sense to allow multiple adjustment to the number of
hugetlb pages in parallel.  Add a mutex to the hstate and use it to only
allow one hugetlb page adjustment at a time.  This will synchronize
modifications to the next_nid_to_alloc variable.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210409205254.242291-4-mike.kravetz@oracle.com
Signed-off-by: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@huawei.com>
Reviewed-by: Muchun Song <songmuchun@bytedance.com>
Reviewed-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Barry Song <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com>
Cc: HORIGUCHI NAOYA <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mina Almasry <almasrymina@google.com>
Cc: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/hugetlb.h |    1 +
 mm/hugetlb.c            |    8 ++++++++
 2 files changed, 9 insertions(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/include/linux/hugetlb.h~hugetlb-add-per-hstate-mutex-to-synchronize-user-adjustments
+++ a/include/linux/hugetlb.h
@@ -559,6 +559,7 @@  HPAGEFLAG(Freed, freed)
 #define HSTATE_NAME_LEN 32
 /* Defines one hugetlb page size */
 struct hstate {
+	struct mutex resize_lock;
 	int next_nid_to_alloc;
 	int next_nid_to_free;
 	unsigned int order;
--- a/mm/hugetlb.c~hugetlb-add-per-hstate-mutex-to-synchronize-user-adjustments
+++ a/mm/hugetlb.c
@@ -2621,6 +2621,11 @@  static int set_max_huge_pages(struct hst
 	else
 		return -ENOMEM;
 
+	/*
+	 * resize_lock mutex prevents concurrent adjustments to number of
+	 * pages in hstate via the proc/sysfs interfaces.
+	 */
+	mutex_lock(&h->resize_lock);
 	spin_lock(&hugetlb_lock);
 
 	/*
@@ -2653,6 +2658,7 @@  static int set_max_huge_pages(struct hst
 	if (hstate_is_gigantic(h) && !IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_CONTIG_ALLOC)) {
 		if (count > persistent_huge_pages(h)) {
 			spin_unlock(&hugetlb_lock);
+			mutex_unlock(&h->resize_lock);
 			NODEMASK_FREE(node_alloc_noretry);
 			return -EINVAL;
 		}
@@ -2727,6 +2733,7 @@  static int set_max_huge_pages(struct hst
 out:
 	h->max_huge_pages = persistent_huge_pages(h);
 	spin_unlock(&hugetlb_lock);
+	mutex_unlock(&h->resize_lock);
 
 	NODEMASK_FREE(node_alloc_noretry);
 
@@ -3214,6 +3221,7 @@  void __init hugetlb_add_hstate(unsigned
 	BUG_ON(hugetlb_max_hstate >= HUGE_MAX_HSTATE);
 	BUG_ON(order == 0);
 	h = &hstates[hugetlb_max_hstate++];
+	mutex_init(&h->resize_lock);
 	h->order = order;
 	h->mask = ~(huge_page_size(h) - 1);
 	for (i = 0; i < MAX_NUMNODES; ++i)