diff mbox series

[055/143] userfaultfd: disable huge PMD sharing for MINOR registered VMAs

Message ID 20210505013540.i2dtgVhuP%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/143] mm: introduce and use mapping_empty() | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 5, 2021, 1:35 a.m. UTC
From: Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>
Subject: userfaultfd: disable huge PMD sharing for MINOR registered VMAs

As the comment says: for the MINOR fault use case, although the page might
be present and populated in the other (non-UFFD-registered) half of the
mapping, it may be out of date, and we explicitly want userspace to get a
minor fault so it can check and potentially update the page's contents.

Huge PMD sharing would prevent these faults from occurring for suitably
aligned areas, so disable it upon UFFD registration.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210301222728.176417-3-axelrasmussen@google.com
Signed-off-by: Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Adam Ruprecht <ruprecht@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Cannon Matthews <cannonmatthews@google.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Chinwen Chang <chinwen.chang@mediatek.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Lokesh Gidra <lokeshgidra@google.com>
Cc: "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: "Michal Koutn" <mkoutny@suse.com>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Mina Almasry <almasrymina@google.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>
Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com>
Cc: Shawn Anastasio <shawn@anastas.io>
Cc: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/userfaultfd_k.h |   13 ++++++++++---
 1 file changed, 10 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/include/linux/userfaultfd_k.h~userfaultfd-disable-huge-pmd-sharing-for-minor-registered-vmas
+++ a/include/linux/userfaultfd_k.h
@@ -56,12 +56,19 @@  static inline bool is_mergeable_vm_userf
 }
 
 /*
- * Never enable huge pmd sharing on uffd-wp registered vmas, because uffd-wp
- * protect information is per pgtable entry.
+ * Never enable huge pmd sharing on some uffd registered vmas:
+ *
+ * - VM_UFFD_WP VMAs, because write protect information is per pgtable entry.
+ *
+ * - VM_UFFD_MINOR VMAs, because otherwise we would never get minor faults for
+ *   VMAs which share huge pmds. (If you have two mappings to the same
+ *   underlying pages, and fault in the non-UFFD-registered one with a write,
+ *   with huge pmd sharing this would *also* setup the second UFFD-registered
+ *   mapping, and we'd not get minor faults.)
  */
 static inline bool uffd_disable_huge_pmd_share(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
 {
-	return vma->vm_flags & VM_UFFD_WP;
+	return vma->vm_flags & (VM_UFFD_WP | VM_UFFD_MINOR);
 }
 
 static inline bool userfaultfd_missing(struct vm_area_struct *vma)